Sustainable
Precast Concrete
Energy Use

There are two sides to energy use:

  • the embodied energy (an LCA term discussed in more detail below) associated with the manufacturing, transportation, use and ultimate disposal of all the materials in a building
  • the energy used to heat, cool, light and generally operate a building.

Embodied energy represents the total energy used in making a product, including cement production, energy used to extract and process aggregates, transportation energy, and energy used in a precast plant. Energy is required for machinery, concrete curing and for heating the plant.

It is possible to utilize manufacturing energy very efficiently as production of precast concrete elements takes place mainly in enclosed factories. For example, the heat used for accelerating the strength development of concrete can also be used in heating the plant. When producing massive elements, the exothermal reaction (hydration) of the cement may reduce heating requirements. The energy consumption of the manufacturing process depends on the type of production.

Equipment, like cranes, transport equipment for aggregates and cement, bending equipment for reinforcement, vibrators etc., can, due to their repetitive operations, be reduced to only what is absolutely necessary to perform the task. The energy required to produce concrete can be improved by rationalizing energy consumption in plant production.

PreCAST CONCRETE... SUSTAINABLE STRUCTURES FOR TOMORROW!
Canadian Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute
PO Box 24058 Hazeldean, Ottawa Ontario, Canada
Tel: 613.232.2619
Toll Free: 1.877.937.2724
© 2018 All rights reserved.

Béton
Préfabriqué
Durable
Utilisation de l’énergie

Il y a deux facettes à l'utilisation de l’énergie :

  • l'énergie contenue (un vocable de L’ÉCV discuté plus en détail ci-dessous) associée à la fabrication, le transport, l’utilisation et la disposition finale de tous les matériaux d’un bâtiment; et
  • l'énergie utilisée pour chauffer, rafraîchir, éclairer et exploiter de façon générale un bâtiment.

L'énergie contenue représente l'énergie totale utilisée dans la fabrication d'un produit, y compris la production du ciment, l'énergie utilisée lors de l’extraction et du traitement des granulats, l'énergie de transport et l'énergie utilisée à l’usine de préfabrication soit l'énergie qui est nécessaire pour la machinerie, pour la cure de béton et pour chauffer l'usine.

Il est possible d'utiliser très efficacement l'énergie industrielle tout comme lors de la production d'éléments de béton préfabriqué qui a lieu principalement dans des usines closes. Par exemple, la chaleur utilisée pour accélérer le développement de la force du béton peut aussi être utilisée pour chauffer l'usine. Lorsque nous produisons des éléments massifs, la réaction exothermique lors de l’hydratation du ciment peut réduire les besoins en chauffage. La consommation d'énergie du procédé de fabrication dépend du type de production.

L'utilisation d’équipement, comme les grues, l'équipement de transport pour les agrégats et le ciment, l'équipement pour plier l’armature, les vibrateurs etc., peut être réduite tant en raison de leurs utilisations répétitives qu’au minimum requis qui est absolument nécessaire afin d'exécuter la tâche. L'énergie exigée pour produire le béton peut être améliorée en rationalisant la consommation d'énergie dans la production en usine.

le béton préfabriqué... des structures durables pour demain!
Canadian Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute
PO Box 24058 Hazeldean, Ottawa Ontario, Canada
Tél: 613.232.2619
Sans Frais: 1.877.937.2724
© 2019 Tous droits réservés