Sustainable
Precast Concrete
Life Cycle Assessment (LCA)

LCA is a standardized method for examining a broad range of environmental impacts associated with a process or a product over its complete life cycle. When applied to buildings, LCA includes the following:

  • resource extraction
  • manufacturing and transportation of materials and pre-fabricated components
  • on-site construction
  • building operations, including energy consumption and maintenance
  • end-of-life reuse, recycling or disposal

Only the LCA of a building can provide estimates of the full range of environmental burdens such as embodied energy use and related fossil fuel depletion, other resource use, greenhouse gas emissions, and toxic releases to air, water and land.

An inclusive LCA of a building is a complex task best handled with computer modelling tools. In Canada and the U.S., the Athena Institute’s ATHENATM Environmental Impact Estimator is available to perform a full life cycle analysis at the whole building level.

PreCAST CONCRETE... SUSTAINABLE STRUCTURES FOR TOMORROW!
Canadian Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute
PO Box 24058 Hazeldean, Ottawa Ontario, Canada
Tel: 613.232.2619
Toll Free: 1.877.937.2724
© 2017 All rights reserved.

Béton
Préfabriqué
Durable
Analyse du cycle de vie (ACV)

L’ACV est une méthode standardisée d’analyse d’une large gamme d'impacts sur l'environnement associés à un processus ou un produit tout au long d'un cycle de vie complet. Quand appliqué aux bâtiments, l’ACV inclut les éléments suivants :

  • l’extraction des ressources;
  • la fabrication et le transport des matériaux et des composants préfabriqués;
  • la construction sur place;
  • l’opération du bâtiment, y compris la consommation d'énergie et l’entretien;
  • la réutilisation, le recyclage ou la disposition en fin de vie

Seulement l’ACV d'un bâtiment peut fournir des évaluations de la gamme complète des fardeaux environnementaux tels le contenu énergétique et l'épuisement des combustibles fossiles qui y est lié, l’utilisation d’autres ressources, les émissions de gaz à effet de serre et les rejets toxiques dans l’atmosphère, l'eau et la terre.

L‘ACV intégral d'un bâtiment est une tâche complexe qui se traite mieux avec des outils de modelage informatiques. Au Canada et aux États-Unis, l’ « ATHENATM Environmental Impact Estimator » de l'Institut Athéna est disponible et permet d’exécuter une analyse du cycle de vie complet du bâtiment à tous les niveaux.

le béton préfabriqué... des structures durables pour demain!
Canadian Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute
PO Box 24058 Hazeldean, Ottawa Ontario, Canada
Tél: 613.232.2619
Sans Frais: 1.877.937.2724
© 2018 Tous droits réservés