Sustainable
Precast Concrete
Thermal Mass

From an operating energy perspective, the thermal inertia of heavy materials is well known, both in warm and cold climates. The figure below shows the comparative thermal inertia of various building materials.

The heat capacity of concrete is about 2,400 KJ/m3/0K. With an average concrete volume of 30 m3 for an apartment, energy in the order of 70 MJ will be stored in the concrete frame for each degree the temperature is raised or lowered. This energy can be released to contribute to heating or cooling the space when the temperature changes. To get an idea about how much energy this is, it can be compared to the total energy consumption required to heat an apartment in a modern building: on an annual basis, this is a maximum of 150 kW/m2 (45 GJ for an apartment of 80 m2). The daily energy consumption in the cold season is less than 250 MJ.

Several systems have been developed to use thermal mass in precast structures, see below. Air is circulated in the voids of hollow core floor and roof slabs. This system reduces the size of the required mechanical system and creates energy savings both for heating in the winter as well as cooling in the summer. For heating, energy savings in the order of 35% can be achieved with this system. A reduction in cooling power consumption can be about 40%.

The underside of concrete floor and roof slabs should be exposed to get the full benefits of thermal mass. Doing away with a suspended ceiling can reduce the overall building height and can result in 5% to 7% savings in construction costs. Using the thermal mass of concrete is extremely important from an environmental point of view as it provides a long-term economic gain for a building owner through reduced life cycle costs.

The mass of concrete can provide excellent acoustic insulating properties for air-borne sound. This makes concrete ideal for external walls in buildings facing roads with heavy traffic and as insulation between different areas in a building. Precast concrete panels are often used as noise barriers beside roads and railroads.

For more information on TermoBuild Technology see the AIA/CSI Presentation

OR Contact

TermoBuild Canada
1136 Centre Street, Suite 170
Thornhill ON L4J3M8
Canada
Tel : (416) 993-5225
Email: jlaken@termobuild.com

PreCAST CONCRETE... SUSTAINABLE STRUCTURES FOR TOMORROW!
Canadian Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute
PO Box 24058 Hazeldean, Ottawa Ontario, Canada
Tel: 613.232.2619
Toll Free: 1.877.937.2724
© 2018 All rights reserved.

Béton
Préfabriqué
Durable
Masse thermique

D'une perspective de l’énergie d'exploitation, l'inertie thermique des matériaux lourds est bien connue, tant dans les climats chauds que froids. La figure ci-dessous compare l'inertie thermique à divers matériaux de construction.

La capacité calorifique du béton est d’environ 2,400 kJ /m3/0K. Avec un volume moyen de 30 m3 de béton par appartement, l'énergie stockée dans une structure de béton sera de l'ordre de 70 MJ pour chaque degré de température à la hausse ou à la baisse. Cette énergie peut être relâchée quand la température change pour contribuer au chauffage ou au rafraîchissement de l'espace. Pour obtenir une idée de la quantité d'énergie que cela représente, on le compare à la consommation d'énergie totale sur une base annuelle exigée pour chauffer un appartement dans un bâtiment moderne, qui est au maximum de 150 kW/m2 (45 GJ pour un appartement de 80 m2). La consommation quotidienne d'énergie pendant la saison froide est de moins de 250 MJ.

Plusieurs systèmes ont été développés afin d’utiliser la masse thermique des structures préfabriquées, voir ci-dessous. L'air circule dans les dalles à âmes creuses des planchers et des toitures. Ce système réduit la taille du système mécanique exigé et génère des économies d'énergie tant pour le chauffage en hiver que pour la climatisation en été. Les économies d’énergie pouvant être réalisées avec ce système sont de l’ordre de 35 % pour le chauffage. La réduction de la consommation de puissance lors de la climatisation peut être d’environ 40%.

Le dessous des planchers et des dalles de toitures en béton devrait être exposé afin de bénéficier au maximum des avantages de la masse thermique.

La suppression d'un plafond suspendu peut réduire la hauteur totale d’un bâtiment ce qui peut mener à des économies de 5 % à 7% des coûts de construction. L'utilisation de la masse thermique du béton est extrêmement importante d'un point de vue environnemental puisqu’elle fournit un gain économique à long terme au propriétaire de bâtiment en réduisant les coûts du cycle de vie.

La masse de béton peut fournir des propriétés d'isolation acoustiques excellentes pour contrer le son aéroporté. Cela fait du béton le choix idéal pour les murs extérieurs des bâtiments faisant face aux routes à circulation intense et comme isolant entre les différents secteurs d’un bâtiment. Des panneaux de béton préfabriqué sont souvent utilisés comme murs anti-bruit près des routes et des chemins de fer.

le béton préfabriqué... des structures durables pour demain!
Canadian Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute
PO Box 24058 Hazeldean, Ottawa Ontario, Canada
Tél: 613.232.2619
Sans Frais: 1.877.937.2724
© 2019 Tous droits réservés