Sustainable
Precast Concrete
Material Selection

Material selection and resource use is one of the key areas assessed in all rating systems. The choice of materials and systems within a material category can have dramatic effect in terms of the environmental burdens captured in a full life cycle assessment. Material selection impacts a number of more specific concerns, such as design efficiency and related material use, recycled content, recyclability, and the potential for reuse. All these considerations are either directly or indirectly taken into account in green building assessment and rating systems. While the systems do not now deal explicitly or well with building durability issues, material selection can also be a key aspect of ensuring a building service life exceeds the desired or planned service life. This is especially true for materials that will be exposed to the elements or subjected to wear and tear from occupants.

LCA Comparison of Precast versus Cast-in-place Systems
Floors and roofs are significant in terms of the environmental burden during the production of the load bearing components of a structure. Optimization of floor and roof components can significantly reduce the environmental impact of the overall structure construction. The table below shows that a precast concrete hollow core slab system can offer clear embodied energy advantages relative to a cast-in-place floor slab.

Energy consumption required to produce concrete floors

Item Hollow core slab (MJ/m²) Cast-in-place slab (MJ/m²)
Cement 186 389
Steel 45 60
Other raw materials 15 23
Manufacturing process 128 32
Transportation 28 42
Total 401 560

Source: fib Environmental issues in prefabrication

Distances from a precast plant and a ready-mix plant to the building site are assumed to be the same. The higher energy consumption for the cast-in-place slab is due to the larger volume of cement and concrete needed per square meter of floor.

In the table below, the comparison is broadened to cover a number of physical characteristics and a range of environmental effects. The precast concrete hollow core floor slab is less environmentally intensive than its cast-in-place counterpart, with the exception of greenhouse gas emissions where the precast system was found to have slightly higher impacts.

Comparison of different floor types from a study in the Netherlands where an extensive investigation compared a precast hollow core floor with a cast-in-place floor.

Item Hollow core slab (per m²) Cast-in-place slab (per m²)
Concrete (kg) 263.7 423.0
Reinforcement (kg) 3.2 6.1
Total mass (kg) 266.9 429.1
 
Eutrophication (kg P04-3 eq.) 0.0356 0.0410
Exhaustion (x 10-12) 0.0468 0.0707
Ecotoxicity (xl03 m3) 2.78 5.81
Greenhouse effect (kg CO2 eq.) 55.2 53.4
Acidification (kg SO2 eq.) 0.252 0.306
Summer smog (kg C2H4 eq.) 0.0297 0.0460
Human toxicity (kg) 0.318 0.411
 
Use of primary energy (MJ) 461 643
Solid waste (kg) 36.3 58.8

*Note: "eq." = equivalents
Source: fib Environmental issues in prefabrication

These results reflect the efficiency of material use in a precast system with advanced production processes using high strength concrete reinforced with prestressing steel. Precast structures use less material to achieve the same load bearing capacity compared with cast-in-place structures. Smaller precast cross sections result in less dead load to carry. CSA A23.3 allows the use of a higher material resistance factor for certified plant manufactured precast concrete elements. The choice of one precast load bearing system over another does not have a major impact on the environmental burden created by the construction.

Prestressing done by pretensioning prestressing strands in the forms at a precast plant is highly efficient; reducing the amount of embedded steel and improving structural performance.

Example: Comparing a prestressed and rebar reinforced concrete beam
A beam spanning 7.0 m is required to carry a dead load of 30 kN/m and a live load of 25 kN/m. A cross section of 300x600 mm is chosen with top reinforcement of 2-No.20 bars. The main reinforcement required for the reinforced beam is 4-No.30 bars to carry the load, while a prestressed beam needs 8-13 mm strands. The reduction in shear reinforcement in the prestressed beam is neglected. The reinforcement required is 2800 mm2 for the reinforced beam compared with 792 mm2 for the prestressed beam - a reduction in the area of the main reinforcement of about 70%.

Summary

  • precasting allows optimized concrete mix designs. Mixes are usually designed to reach 25-30 MPa in 12-16 hours for precasting a new element each day.
  • prestressing can significantly reduce the amount of steel used; and
  • post-tensioned concrete can be employed at a precast plant and is often used at the site to join elements as moment connections, shear walls and for stabilizing elevator and stair shafts in tall buildings.
PreCAST CONCRETE... SUSTAINABLE STRUCTURES FOR TOMORROW!
Canadian Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute
PO Box 24058 Hazeldean, Ottawa Ontario, Canada
Tel: 613.232.2619
Toll Free: 1.877.937.2724
© 2018 All rights reserved.

Béton
Préfabriqué
Durable
Sélection des matériaux

La sélection des matériaux et des ressources est un des secteurs clés évalués dans tous les systèmes de notation. Le choix des matériaux et des systèmes dans une catégorie de matériaux peut avoir un effet dramatique en termes des fardeaux environnementaux notés dans l’évaluation de cycle de vie complet. La sélection des matériaux a des incidences sur un certain nombre de préoccupations plus spécifiques telles l’efficacité de la conception et l’utilisation des matériaux qui y sont liés, le contenu recyclé, la recyclabilité et le potentiel de réutilisation. Toutes ces considérations sont directement ou indirectement prises en compte par les systèmes d’évaluation et de notation d’un bâtiment écologique vert.

Tandis que les systèmes ne traitent pas explicitement présentement de la durabilité du bâtiment ou le font peu, la sélection des matériaux peut aussi être un aspect clef permettant d'assurer que la durée d'utilisation prévue d’un bâtiment excède sa durée d'utilisation désirée ou projetée. C'est particulièrement vrai pour les matériaux qui seront exposés aux éléments ou soumis à l'usure suite à leur utilisation par les occupants.

Comparaison de l’ÉCV du préfabriqué vs les systèmes coulés sur place

Item Hollow core slab (MJ/m²) Cast-in-place slab (MJ/m²)
Cement 186 389
Acier 45 60
Autres matériaux bruts 15 23
Processus manufacturier 128 32
Transport 28 42
Total 401 560

Source: fib Environmental issues in prefabrication

Les distances d'une usine de préfabrication et d’une usine de béton prêt à l’emploi au chantier sont présumées être les mêmes. La consommation d'énergie qui est plus élevée pour la dalle coulée sur place existe en raison du plus grand volume de ciment et de béton nécessaire par mètre carré de plancher.

Dans le tableau ci-dessous, la comparaison est élargie pour couvrir un certain nombre de caractéristiques physiques et une gamme d'effets environnementaux. La dalle de plancher de béton préfabriqué à âmes creuses est moins dommageable écologiquement que sa contrepartie coulée sur place, à l'exception des émissions de gaz à effet de serre où il a été établi que le système préfabriqué a des impacts légèrement plus élevés.

Comparaison de divers types de planchers selon une étude menée aux Pays-Bas où une enquête approfondie a comparé le plancher de béton préfabriqué à âmes creuses avec le plancher coulé sur place.

  Dalle à âmes creuses (par m²) Dalle coulée en place (per m²)
Béton (kg) 263.7 423.0
Armature (kg) 3.2 6.1
Masse totale (kg) 266.9 429.1
 
Eutrophisation (kg P04-3 eq.) 0.0356 0.0410
Épuisement (x 10-12) 0.0468 0.0707
Écotoxicité (xl03 m3) 2.78 5.81
Effet de serre (kg CO2 eq.) 55.2 53.4
Acidification (kg SO2 eq.) 0.252 0.306
Smog d’été (kg C2H4 eq.) 0.0297 0.0460
Toxicité humaine (kg) 0.318 0.411
 
Utilisation primaire de l’énergie (MJ) 461 643
Déchets solides (kg) 36.3 58.8

*Note: "eq." = équivalents
Source: fib Environmental issues in prefabrication

Ces résultats reflètent l'efficacité d'utilisation des matériaux dans un système préfabriqué avec des processus de production avancés utilisant le béton haute-résistance renforcé avec l'acier de précontrainte. Les structures précontraintes utilisent moins de matériaux pour obtenir la même capacité de charge comparativement aux structures coulée sur place. De l’utilisation de sections préfabriquées plus petites résulte un niveau de charge morte moindre. La norme CSA A23.3 autorise l'usine certifiée qui fabrique des éléments de béton préfabriqué à utiliser un facteur de résistance substantiellement plus élevé. Le choix d'un système préfabriqué porteur ou d’un autre n'a pas d'impact majeur sur le fardeau environnemental généré par la construction.

La précontrainte fait en prétensionnant des câbles de précontrainte dans les moules à l’usine de préfabrication est très efficace : réduction de la quantité d'acier incorporée et amélioration de la performance structurelle.

EXEMPLE : COMPARAISON D’UNE POUTRE DE BÉTON ARMÉ ET D’UNE POUTRE PRÉCONTRAINTE
Une poutre ayant une portée de 7,0 m doit supporter une charge morte de 30 kN/m et une charge vivante de 25 kN/m. Une section efficace de 300x600 mm, armée dans sa partie supérieure de 2 barres No.20, est choisie. L’armature principale requise pour une poutre armée est de 4 barres No.30 pour supporter la charge, tandis qu'une poutre précontrainte requiert 8 torons de 13 millimètres. La réduction de l’armature de la poutre précontrainte en cisaillement est négligeable. L’armature requise pour la poutre armée est de 2800 mm2 comparativement à 792 mm2 pour la poutre précontrainte - une réduction d’environ 70% de l’armature principale de la section.

Sommaire

  • la préfabrication permet des conceptions de mélanges de béton optimisés. Les mélanges sont habituellement conçus pour atteindre 25-30 MPa en 2 à 16 heures afin de préfabriquer un nouvel élément chaque jour.
  • la précontrainte peut réduire significativement la quantité d'acier utilisée; et
  • le post-tensionnement du béton peut être fait à l’usine de préfabrication et est souvent utilisé sur le site pour joindre des éléments comme des raccordements de moment, murs de cisaillement et pour stabiliser les puits d'ascenseurs et d’escaliers dans les immeubles élevés.
le béton préfabriqué... des structures durables pour demain!
Canadian Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute
PO Box 24058 Hazeldean, Ottawa Ontario, Canada
Tél: 613.232.2619
Sans Frais: 1.877.937.2724
© 2019 Tous droits réservés