Sustainable
Precast Concrete
Service Life

The durability, or service life, of a building element is a function of the material and the environment. Precast prestressed concrete will provide reliable, long-term performance in extremely harsh conditions that can destroy lesser materials. Precast is resistant to deterioration from weather extremes, chemical attack, fire, accidental damage and the determined efforts of vandals.

The production of precast concrete elements under controlled plant conditions allows for accurate control of the results; e.g. tolerances and concrete quality. The concrete used in precast components is usually denser, stronger and is almost always of better quality than concrete cast at the jobsite.

The most common deterioration of concrete structures is the corrosion of the steel reinforcement. Protection of reinforcing steel from corrosion can be obtained by proper embedment in concrete. A protective iron oxide film forms on the bar as a result of the high alkalinity of the cement paste. This protection can be lost by leaching and carbonization. Concrete with sufficiently low permeability and adequate cover will protect the reinforcement. Hairline and structural cracking may allow oxygen and moisture to reach the reinforcement, providing conditions where rusting of the steel and staining of the concrete can occur. In precast production, the concrete cover to the reinforcement ratio is better controlled. Precast concrete is stronger, manufactured to better tolerances and prestressed (with its lower usage of steel) to provide better durability in harsh environments.

PreCAST CONCRETE... SUSTAINABLE STRUCTURES FOR TOMORROW!
Canadian Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute
PO Box 24058 Hazeldean, Ottawa Ontario, Canada
Tel: 613.232.2619
Toll Free: 1.877.937.2724
© 2018 All rights reserved.

Béton
Préfabriqué
Durable
Vie utile

La durabilité, ou la vie utile, d'une partie de bâtiment est fonction du matériau et de l'environnement. Le béton préfabriqué précontraint fournira une performance fiable, à long terme dans des conditions extrêmement dures qui peuvent détruire des matériaux moindres. Le préfabriqué est résistant à la détérioration due aux extrêmes météorologiques, aux attaques chimiques, au feu, aux dommages accidentels et aux efforts des vandales déterminés.

La production d'éléments de béton préfabriqué sous des conditions bien définies en usine permet de contrôler précisément les résultats; i.e. respect des tolérances et qualité du béton. Le béton utilisé dans les éléments préfabriqués est habituellement plus dense, plus fort et est presque toujours de meilleure qualité que le béton coulé sur place au chantier.

La détérioration la plus commune des structures en béton est due à la corrosion de l’acier d’armature. Il est possible de protéger l’acier d’armature de la corrosion en le noyant de façon appropriée dans le béton. Un film protecteur d'oxyde de fer se forme sur la barre à cause de la haute alcalinité de la pâte de ciment. Cette protection peut être perdue par lixiviation et par carbonisation. Un béton doté d’une perméabilité suffisamment basse et une couverture adéquate protégera l’armature. Les fissures microscopiques et structurelles peuvent permettre à l'oxygène et à l'humidité d'atteindre l’armature, fournissant ainsi des conditions permettant à l’acier de rouiller et le béton pourra alors être taché.

Dans la production du préfabriqué, le ratio de couverture de béton en relation avec l’armature est mieux contrôlé. Le béton préfabriqué est plus fort, fabriqué selon de meilleures tolérances et précontraint (utilisant donc moins d’acier) pour fournir une meilleure durabilité dans des environnements rudes.

le béton préfabriqué... des structures durables pour demain!
Canadian Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute
PO Box 24058 Hazeldean, Ottawa Ontario, Canada
Tél: 613.232.2619
Sans Frais: 1.877.937.2724
© 2019 Tous droits réservés