Sustainable
Precast Concrete
CPCI Sustainable Plant Program

Canadian Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute (CPCI) officially launched the new Sustainable Plant Program at CPCI’s Summer Board Meeting in Whistler BC. May 14th – 17th, 2012.

The goal of this optional program is to improve the environmental impact at the manufacturing level while creating a culture of sustainability within the industry. The benefits of sustainable business practices are well documented. As the leading technical resource for the precast concrete industry in Canada, CPCI is providing the tools for its member plants to measure and implement changes that will have a measurable improvement in their environmental and economic performance using a web based Software Tracking Program.

Click here to download the latest Sustainable Plant Program quarterly report

Overview:
The CPCI Canadian Precast Concrete Sustainable Plant Program is a program designed to encourage continuous improvement and compliance to environmental and sustainability regulations and standards. Environmental performance will be determined based on the intents of all applicable government environmental policies. Sustainability performance will build on the Canadian Precast Concrete LCA research currently underway by CPCI. The CPCI program is not intended to replace municipal, provincial or federal environmental acts and their requirements, it is a program designed to track the improvements implemented by each manufacturer and it is the responsibility of each individual manufacturer to understand and comply with the applicable government requirements. As part of this program, facilities will be required to submit confidential benchmark reports on a semi-annual basis. The aggregated results of the program will be communicated to the public every two years through the Canadian Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute Sustainability Report.

The environmental and sustainability requirements are based on the following sub-categories:

Environmental Performance Standards

  • Dust control
  • Process Water, Storm Water and Chemical Management
  • Noise Control

Sustainability Performance Standards

  • Energy
  • Materials
  • Transportation

The precast concrete industry is dedicated to developing and promoting low environmental impact building design, complementing such current efforts as the new Energy Code and ASHRAE‘s Advanced Energy Design Guidelines to encourage the elimination of thermal bridging in building facades and the increased use of thermal mass.


In the fall of 2014, the program was adopted by the National Precast Concrete Association (NPCA) and the Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute (PCI). It is now called the North American Precast Concrete Sustainable Plant Program.

See the North American Precast Concrete Sustainable Plant Program.

PreCAST CONCRETE... SUSTAINABLE STRUCTURES FOR TOMORROW!
Canadian Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute
PO Box 24058 Hazeldean, Ottawa Ontario, Canada
Tel: 613.232.2619
Toll Free: 1.877.937.2724
© 2018 All rights reserved.

Béton
Préfabriqué
Durable
Programme de préfabrication durable des usines

L’Institut canadien du béton préfabriqué/précontraint (CPCI) a officiellement lancé le nouveau Programme de Préfabrication Durable lors de la réunion annuelle du Conseil du CPCI qui s’est tenue à Whistler CB, du 14 au 17 mai 2012.

L'objectif de ce programme facultatif est d'améliorer l'impact environnemental de la fabrication, tout en créant une culture de durabilité au sein de l'Industrie. Les avantages des pratiques commerciales durables sont bien documentés. À titre de principale ressource technique de l'Industrie du béton préfabriqué au Canada, le CPCI fournit à ses usines membres des outils pour mettre en œuvre et mesurer les changements qui viendront améliorer leur performance environnementale et économique, et ce à travers le programme Web Tracking Software

Veuillez cliquer ici pour télécharger le Sustainable Plant Program Quarterly Report (disponible en anglais seulement)

Vue d’ensemble:
Le Programme de Préfabrication Durable des usines de béton préfabriqué pour les membres du CPCI est un programme conçu pour encourager l'amélioration continue, la durabilité ainsi que la conformité à la réglementation et aux normes environnementales. La performance environnementale sera mesurée sur la base des objectifs visés par les politiques gouvernementales environnementales applicables. Les performances de développement durable s'appuieront sur la recherche réalisée au Canada par le CPCI sur l’Analyse du Cycle de Vie (ACV) du béton préfabriqué. Le programme du CPCI n'est pas destiné à remplacer les lois environnementales municipales, provinciales ou fédérales et leurs exigences ; c’est un programme conçu pour suivre les améliorations obtenues par les fabricants, et il est de la responsabilité de ces derniers de comprendre et de se conformer aux exigences gouvernementales applicables. Dans le cadre de ce programme, les établissements seront tenus de soumettre des rapports d’étalonnages confidentiels sur une base semestrielle. Les résultats globaux de ce programme seront communiqués au public tous les deux ans par l'entremise d’un rapport sur la durabilité émis par l’Institut canadien du béton préfabriqué/précontraint.

Les exigences environnementales et de durabilité se basent sur les sous-catégories suivantes :

Normes de performance environnementale

  • Contrôle de la poussière
  • Gestion des eaux issues des procédés, des eaux de pluie et des produits chimiques.
  • Contrôle du bruit

Normes de performance de durabilité

  • Énergie
  • Matériaux
  • Transport

L'industrie du béton préfabriqué se consacre au développement et à la promotion du design de bâtiment à faible impact environnemental, en complémentant des programmes tels que le nouveau code de l'énergie et les Advanced Energy Design Guidelines de l'ASHRAE pour encourager l'élimination des ponts thermiques dans les façades de bâtiment et l'utilisation accrue de la masse thermique de ceux-ci.


Depuis l’automne 2014, le programme est une initiative conjointe des membres de L’Institut canadien du béton préfabriqué/précontraint (CPCI), de la National Precast Concrete Association (NPCA) et du Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute (PCI). Le programme est maintenant connu sous le nom suivant : Le programme de préfabrication durable des usines de béton d’Amérique du Nord.

Téléchargez la brochure du programme de préfabrication durable des usines de béton d’amérique du Nord.

le béton préfabriqué... des structures durables pour demain!
Canadian Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute
PO Box 24058 Hazeldean, Ottawa Ontario, Canada
Tél: 613.232.2619
Sans Frais: 1.877.937.2724
© 2019 Tous droits réservés