Sustainable
Precast Concrete
Transportation and Erection

In precast construction, the rigging of scaffolding, formwork, storage areas etc. is either not necessary or done only once. Scaffolding is generally not required for precast structures. Cranes are used to lift precast components into their place in a structure.

Transportation
When a building uses precast elements, large parts of the building can be brought to the site with each transport. Larger trucks consume less fuel per ton transported. Materials for formwork, scaffolding etc. are not required at the site and do not need to be transported.

Precast concrete structures are usually lighter than the equivalent area of on-site cast-in-place concrete. This can represent a significant reduction in the number of truck movements and reduced consumption of fossil fuels. The amount of energy consumed during the transport of precast elements is about 0.00114 MJ/kg/km. This represents 5% to 10% of the total energy consumption during manufacturing of precast concrete elements.

Construction Time
Precast concrete construction is nearly always faster when building the main parts of a structure. Components are manufactured in a precast plant at the same time as the foundations are being constructed at the site.

Precast units are normally large pieces, so greater parts of a building are completed with each activity compared to cast-in-place construction (formwork, scaffolding, reinforcement, concrete etc). Precast erection is fast and efficient, generally carried out using mobile cranes.

Total precast bridge structures (abutments, wingwalls, girders + decks and traffic barriers) can dramatically speed up construction and reduce inconvenience and detours for motorists.

Manpower
An erection team will consist of a crane and small crew. Experienced erectors can erect a whole frame and the floors and roof together with the walls of a building often before any other trades are engaged at the site.

The following are typical erection times:

  • Erection of hollow core floor slabs - 300 m2 per working day
  • Grouting of floor joints - 500 m2 per day
  • Erection of columns - 8 pieces per day
  • Erection of beams - 15 pieces per day
  • Erection of double tee slabs - 25 pieces per day
  • Erection of walls - 15 pieces per day
  • Stair and elevator shafts - 2 floors per day

For commercial buildings (offices, shopping centers, schools etc.) about 100 m2 of a building can be erected each day, including the erection of all components and all necessary connections. The corresponding figure for the erection of apartment buildings is about 80 m2 per day. The difference is generally due to smaller pieces and stricter tolerances.

Waste
There is little waste to dispose of at a building site when the structure is precast. This was documented in a major investigation carried out in Sweden in 1996 where about 400 apartments were to be built. Ten similar buildings were selected, each containing 11 apartment buildings; five were precast and five were cast-in-place. Records were kept of the consumption of energy, materials, productivity, construction time, working environment, sick leaves, accidents, quality control, installation, waste generation and cost. The final result was the amount of waste at the building site was 35% less for the precast buildings compared with the cast-in-place buildings.

In 2001, close scrutiny was paid to the waste generation at a major project in Oslo, Norway. The buildings contain about 150,000 m2 of floor space. The structure was constructed using steel frames with precast hollow core floor and roof slabs. The delivery and erection of the steel frame and the slabs were combined in the precast contract. The surplus material generated at the site during the erection of these components was only about 1 kg per m2 of hollow core slab. The surplus material consisted mainly of wood, concrete and reinforcing steel from the grouting of the joints at the site. All surplus material, except some epoxy resin, was recycled, and was not considered as waste.

Inconvenience to the Public
Precast components can be brought to the site just-in-time by truck with considerable reduction in traffic and less obstruction of the public. No staging areas are required. The precast units are lifted directly from the trucks and placed in the structure without any stockpiling on the job site.

PreCAST CONCRETE... SUSTAINABLE STRUCTURES FOR TOMORROW!
Canadian Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute
PO Box 24058 Hazeldean, Ottawa Ontario, Canada
Tel: 613.232.2619
Toll Free: 1.877.937.2724
© 2018 All rights reserved.

Béton
Préfabriqué
Durable
Transport et montage

Lors de constructions utilisant le préfabriqué, le gréage d'échafaudage, de coffrage, des secteurs de stockage etc.ne sont pas nécessaires ou faits seulement une fois. L'échafaudage n'est généralement pas nécessaire pour les structures préfabriquées. Les grues sont utilisées pour soulever les éléments préfabriqués à l’endroit prévu dans une structure.

Transport
Quand une construction utilise des éléments préfabriqués, de grandes sections du bâtiment peuvent être apportées au site lors de chaque transport. Les gros camions consomment moins de carburant par tonne transportée. Les matériaux de coffrage et d’échafaudage n'étant pas nécessaires sur le site ils n’ont pas besoin d’être transportés.

Les structures de béton préfabriqué sont généralement plus légères que la section équivalente de béton coulé sur place. Cela peut représenter une réduction significative du nombre de mouvements de camions et une réduction de la consommation de combustibles fossiles. La quantité d'énergie consommée pendant le transport d'éléments préfabriqués est d’environ 0,00114 MJ/kg/km. Cela représente de 5 % à 10 % de la consommation totale d'énergie pendant la fabrication de béton précontraint.

Délai d’exécution
La construction en béton préfabriqué est presque toujours plus rapide en construisant les parties principales d'une structure. Les éléments sont fabriqués dans une usine de préfabrication en même temps que les fondations sont construites sur le site.

Les éléments préfabriqués sont normalement de grandes pièces, donc de plus grandes sections d’un bâtiment sont complétées avec chaque activité comparativement à la construction avec béton coulé sur place (coffrage, l'échafaudage, armature, le bétonnage etc.). Le montage du préfabriqué est rapide et efficace, il s’effectue généralement en utilisant des grues mobiles.

Les structures de ponts totalement préfabriquées (culées, murs en ailes, poutres & tabliers, barrières de trafic) peuvent dramatiquement accélérer la construction et réduire les inconvénients et les détours pour les automobilistes.

Main d’œuvre
Une équipe d’installation consistera en un petit équipage et une grue. Des monteurs d’expérience peuvent ériger une charpente en entier, les planchers, la toiture et les murs d’un bâtiment souvent avant que les autres corps de métiers ne soient engagés au site.

Voici des temps typiques de montage:

  • Installation de dalles à âmes creuses - 300 m² par jour de travail
  • Scellement des joints de planchers - 500 m² par jour
  • Édification de colonnes - 8 pièces par jour
  • Édification de poutres - 15 pièces par jour
  • Édification de dalles de type double tés - 25 pièces par jour
  • Édification de murs - 15 pièces par jour
  • Puits d’escaliers et d’ascenseurs - 2 planchers par jour

Pour des bâtiments commerciaux (bureaux, centres commerciaux, écoles etc.) environ 100 m2 d'un bâtiment peuvent être érigés chaque jour, y compris le montage de tous les éléments et de toutes les connexions nécessaires. Le chiffre correspondant pour le montage d’un immeuble à appartements est d’environ 80 m2 par jour. La différence est généralement en raison des pièces plus petites et des tolérances plus strictes.

Rebuts
Il y a peu de déchets dont il faut disposer sur un chantier quand la structure est préfabriquée. Ce fait a été documenté lors d’une étude majeure effectuée en Suède en 1996 où environ 400 appartements devaient être construits. Dix bâtiments semblables ont été choisis, chacun contenant 11 appartements; cinq étaient préfabriqués et cinq étaient coulés sur place. Les données ont été colligées au regard de la consommation d'énergie, des matériaux, de la productivité, du temps de construction, de l'environnement de travail, des congés de maladie, des accidents, du contrôle de qualité, de l'installation, de la production de rebuts et des coûts. Le résultat final révéla que la quantité de déchets aux chantiers était 35 % moins élevée pour les bâtiments préfabriqués comparativement aux bâtiments coulés sur place.

En 2001, une attention particulière fut portée à la production de déchets sur un projet majeur à Oslo en Norvège. Les bâtiments ont une superficie d’environ 150,000 m2 de planchers. La structure a été construite utilisant des charpentes d’acier et des dalles à âmes creuses pour les planchers et les toitures. La livraison et le montage des charpentes d’acier ainsi que des dalles à âmes creuses furent ajoutés au contrat de préfabrication. Les rebuts au site pendant le montage de ces éléments n’étaient seulement que d’environ 1 kg par m2 de dalles à âmes creuses. Les rebuts consistaient principalement de bois, de béton et d'acier d’armature et de coulis provenant du remplissage des joints sur le site. Tous les rebuts, sauf une certaine résine d'époxyde, ont été recyclés et n'ont pas été considérés comme des déchets.

Inconvénients pour le public
Les éléments préfabriqués peuvent être apportés au site juste à temps par camions réduisant considérablement le trafic tout en en minimisant les embouteillages pour le public. Aucune aire d’attente n'est exigée. Les unités préfabriquées sont soulevées directement des camions et placées dans la structure sans qu’aucune aire de stockage ne soit nécessaire sur le chantier.

le béton préfabriqué... des structures durables pour demain!
Canadian Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute
PO Box 24058 Hazeldean, Ottawa Ontario, Canada
Tél: 613.232.2619
Sans Frais: 1.877.937.2724
© 2019 Tous droits réservés